Soft-hearted

As was typical for the time of day and day of week that I logged on, there was nobody else online. Just me, myself, and my alt. So I started scanning.  Within seconds, a new signature opened up, and I zeroed in on it, logging in my Pilgrim and Legion to warp to the hole.  What I caught was the butt-end of a Moros rolling the hole into oblivion.

Clearly another C5 corporation looking for pew. With no wrecks on scan and no capitals doing anything, they decided our little Class 5 wormhole wasn’t interesting and kept on rolling.

So I finished bookmarking sites, updating signatures, and scanning out our new static connection.  Upon entering, I saw wrecks and a pair of Drakes on D-Scan.

Now, if this were a C2 system, this would be a pretty normal sight.  Drakes are ideal for Class 2 sites either solo or in a small group. A trio of Drakes with remote-rep can handle most Class 3 anomalies, and a quartet of the same remote-rep Drakes can clear the Class 3 data & relic sites with ease.

But this was a duo.  I roughly triangulated their position, and in 3 combat scan cycles (I suck at this, apparently) nailed the relic site they were running.  Warped in at 100, as I wanted to bookmark wrecks near them to bring in my alt to neut them out, not immediately jump them without assessing the situation first.

There they were. Two obviously local-tanked Drakes, one clearly more skilled than the other, burning around blowing up the Sleepers.  I checked their history; neither one was more than three months old in the game; the clearly sub-par range on their heavy missiles and slow, waddling speeds told me they’d probably be easy meat once jumped.  They were down to just one cruiser and one frigate from the first wave.  My Legion has a over 100,000EHP, but clearly they were able to handle the 200+ DPS of the first wave with ease. In a cloaky Legion, I don’t have the DPS to take this duo out solo, and I didn’t think I could get into position quickly enough before they spawned the next wave.  If I were primaried by the Sleepers, I’d have a few minutes to try to burn these guys down before I had to bug out.

I weighed my options, and made a prediction: the next wave of Sleepers would drive them out of the site, and thus they would learn.  I decided to let the Sleepers teach them.  I went to the kitchen, cooked up some microwave popcorn, came back to my computer, and sat back to watch the show as the Sleepers delivered the lesson.

Predictably, as the next wave spawned, the lower-skilled of the two warped out within seconds. He’d been struggling to keep up with the DPS (oh, how I wish you could target while cloaked to see how much armor/shield is left!) of just the first wave.  The increase in the second wave clearly plunged him quickly to armor, and he bugged out toward what I assumed was the highsec hole somewhere in the system.  I hadn’t scanned it out yet — since I wanted some kills! — but I figured it was a fair guess.

The second in the pair — “Old Amok” — lasted a lot longer. In fact, for several minutes I thought he had what it took to handle 300+ DPS from the Sleepers indefinitely.  I was kind of hoping he’d make it to Reinforcement Wave 3; then I’d dive in in my Pilgrim, neut him, and wait for the Sleepers to wreck him.  But alas, it was not to be; he warped out in the same direction as his buddy.

So I opened a conversation with him.  Hoping for a teaching moment, you know. Slight edits for clarity.

TXG SYNC > Hi! Speak English?

Old Amok > hi, yep I am

TXG SYNC > Good. I watched you try to run the site in the C3 just now. Thought about ganking you but the Sleepers did the job for me 🙂

Old Amok > 🙂

TXG SYNC > Are you open to advice?

Old Amok > sure dude ^)

TXG SYNC > 1. Watch D-scan, It took me 30 seconds to combat-scan you. You missed them.

Old Amok > so, whats about advice?

TXG SYNC > 2. You need more Drakes to do data or relic sites… 3 or 4. I have a fit if you are interested 🙂

TXG SYNC > You want about 1100-1300DPS tank in a battlecruiser for that site.

TXG SYNC > The reason I did not gank you is I knew what was coming in the next wave. It was entertaining to watch 🙂

Old Amok > can you show me a fit of drake for this kind of relic?

TXG SYNC > Yes, I can share my corporation’s fit. One moment.

Old Amok > TXG SYNC )))

Old Amok > thanks for you didn’t do this man)

TXG SYNC > With good skills, 4 Drakes can do the Class 3 data/relic sites: ((linked a fit here: Class 4 Large Rep)).  Use remote rep spider. If you only have three Drakes, stick to the anomalies. The data and relics will kick your butt. If you have two drakes, even anomalies last wave is very hard.

TXG SYNC > Your local-tanked drakes would be fine in a Class 2 data/relic site though.

TXG SYNC > I hope that helps! Good luck!

Old Amok > actually I didn’t know that is a 3 class wh

Old Amok > Thank you so much

Old Amok > for all that you didn’t do for us ^)

TXG SYNC > Please join a wormhole corporation and learn the basics so people like me do not kill you. Have a great day!

Here’s the fit I shared with him. A pretty basic remote-rep ball fit that’s suitable for Class 3 and Class 4 sites, with sufficient range and tank if in a fleet of several of them.  4 Drakes is pretty much the minimum for the Relic site they were in; 5 would have enhanced their safety a good deal.

[Drake, Class 4 Large Rep]

Damage Control II
Beta Reactor Control: Capacitor Power Relay I
Beta Reactor Control: Capacitor Power Relay I
Beta Reactor Control: Capacitor Power Relay I

Adaptive Invulnerability Field II
Adaptive Invulnerability Field II
EM Ward Amplifier II
Pithum C-Type Thermic Dissipation Amplifier
Pithum C-Type Kinetic Deflection Amplifier
Phased Weapon Navigation Array Generation Extron

Pithum A-Type Medium Remote Shield Booster
Heavy Missile Launcher II, Caldari Navy Scourge Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher II, Caldari Navy Scourge Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher II, Caldari Navy Scourge Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher II, Caldari Navy Scourge Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher II, Caldari Navy Scourge Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher II, Caldari Navy Scourge Heavy Missile

Medium Hydraulic Bay Thrusters I
Medium Hydraulic Bay Thrusters I
Medium Rocket Fuel Cache Partition I

Hobgoblin II x5

I think I’m too soft-hearted for this PvP stuff.

One response to “Soft-hearted

  1. A carefully timed saber bubble could have been super funny, But nice work teaching some new bros how to fit ships. Ya big softie.

Leave a Reply

