A new experience

Well, my little ambush in a site-running C1 / Blackhole didn’t quite work out, the locals appeared to be online somewhere but were not considerate enough to show themselves in ships that I could take down. Or show themselves at all.  By now, time had severed our static connections and my little fleet of alts had floated away from their empire base like ants trapped in a soap bubble.  When I scanned down the new connection, I found myself miles and miles from nowhere.

Solo play allows calm contemplation of the next adventure and I realized that I actually had never run the Epic Mission Arcs, except the Sisters of EVE one, Blood Stained Stars.  I actually had run that one a couple of times to repair my Amarr standing, its great fun with an assault frigate, by the way.  But the other racial Epic Arcs had eluded me. See, when I joined the Wormhole Corporation four years ago, I barely ran lvl 4 missions and the Epic Arcs are about that difficulty.  Well, thats something that I can fix! But what ship to bring?

I am left with a stable of fairly expensive ships, thanks to ever-shifting doctrines in our hole.  We went from shield (Drakes, Tengus) to Armor because that frees up midslots that can be used for tackle and hence allow a site running fleet to be a bait fleet – a concept that I was absolutely behind.  So, aside from 2 Dominixes, a Megathron and a Prophecy, I also threw in a Damnation for good measure.  The Damnation was on-grid for C4/3 site running with a beastly tank and since it often was the most expensive boat, designed as the linchpin of baiting. The gank never happened and thats why I still have it, I have no illusion that our plan would have gone horribly wrong if we had ever gotten jumped.

In addition to the visible ships, I have rows and rows of cloaky ones, lots of Buzzards, Helios-es (Helioi?), a couple of Arazus, Falcons, a Rook and a Lachesis.  I have my fleet of Bombers, including a T2 Torpedo Launcher misfit called “Schwerer Gustaf” that literally has no use other than pummeling stationary enormous targets which we don’t really encounter and my dedicated hacking-frigate-killer, a Manticore with 4 points and rockets, oh man I could have used that recently.

For mission running – Gallente Epic Arc – what shall I take? And how shall I fit it?  I have never been good at fits, I literally take the fits that people give me – rarely do I really think it through.  But re-building my ships for missions gives me an opportunity to learn more about them, their bonuses and modules that I had ignored for so long.

For the first combat mission, I chose my Stratios loaded for bear with drones and 4 Medium Pulse Lasers since I don’t need the cloak or the probe launcher.  With the appropriate tank and the mods in the mids and the low slots, this boat is actually pretty damn good – its a brawler, but the sentries give me decent long-range options (full fits are below).  Notice the 2 armor repairers – I wasn’t quite sure how much incoming damage I will face, so I doubled up – or in the words of Oreamnos “never not overkill”.  That of course can be tuned.

And while we are at overkill – I have 2 accounts, means, I can bring in another character.  Oh, wait, he has the Damnation. Lets re-fit that.  With nearly perfect missile skills, 3 perfect armor links running and the same tank set-up as my Stratios, this is a rather tough nut to crack.

Together, these two get to Tolle where the first combat mission starts and duly whack the resident NPCs. During the fight, I am glad that I brought these ridiculously overpowered ships – at no point was I in any danger and could actually learn fighting with 2 toons on 2 screens, something I am terrible at, especially in PvP (I have some seriously pathetic stories about me trying to do this).  Having both boats on grid and getting quite a bit of damage on them forces me to “call targets”, watch tank, range and incoming damage on my drones more than I had flown in there with 1 character and left the other one boosting from a safe spot.  I like on-grid boosting, I wouldn’t mind if CCP made that mandatory.  You want to bring links, ok, but they need to be in the line of fire.

The two characters blow through the mission in no time, I hand it in, get some ISK (nothing to shout home about) and dock myself up.  It was an hour spent with engaged gameplay, planning fits, bringing ships forward, checking boosts and in the end blowing up red crosses (or weird red symbols, not getting the hang of them yet).  In other words, it was a perfect Sunday morning EVE session.

And icing on the cake: just would you look at the scenery.  How did I miss the beauty of EVE for all these years?

The Beauty of EVE

 

 

 

[Stratios, Whisk]
Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane II
Medium Ancillary Armor Repairer
Medium Armor Repairer II
Damage Control II
Drone Damage Amplifier II

Large Capacitor Battery II
Cap Recharger II
Cap Recharger II
Omnidirectional Tracking Link II
10MN Afterburner II

Drone Link Augmentor II
Focused Medium Pulse Laser II
Focused Medium Pulse Laser II
Focused Medium Pulse Laser II
Focused Medium Pulse Laser II

Medium Anti-Explosive Pump I
Medium Trimark Armor Pump I
Medium Auxiliary Nano Pump I
Salvage Drone I x5
Hammerhead II x9
Warrior II x5
Garde II x4
Curator II x3
Hobgoblin II x13
Vespa EC-600 x2

Scorch M x7
Nanite Repair Paste x300

 

[Damnation, Raw Egg]
Damage Control II
Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane II
Medium Ancillary Armor Repairer
Medium ‘Accommodation’ Vestment Reconstructer I
Ballistic Control System II
Missile Guidance Enhancer II

Cap Recharger II
Missile Guidance Computer II
Phased Weapon Navigation Array Generation Extron
Cap Recharger II

Armored Warfare Link – Damage Control II
Armored Warfare Link – Passive Defense II
Armored Warfare Link – Rapid Repair II
Heavy Assault Missile Launcher II
Heavy Assault Missile Launcher II
Heavy Assault Missile Launcher II
Heavy Assault Missile Launcher II

Medium Trimark Armor Pump I
Medium Trimark Armor Pump I
Valkyrie SW-600 x5
Medium Armor Maintenance Bot I x5

Missile Range Script x1
Scourge Heavy Assault Missile x5320
Nanite Repair Paste x468

Leave a Reply

