Experiments

Its been a busy week with work, life and everything but I did manage to get a few solid rounds of EVE in.  To be honest, its also because Daybreak (formerly known as SONY) locked me out of my Planet Side II account. PS had always been my go-to-game for the 15min quick fight where ALT-F4 was a perfectly acceptable end to a session.  But I can’t be bothered to get in touch with their customer service department to reset my password. PS II isn’t that good.

Good Bye Planet Side

The good news is that I still have EVE characters in high sec who have little to do other than minding the pathetic PI farm that I set up during conference calls. And one of them actually has some shooty skills, so I decided to grind a faction standing, more to have something to do than to actually need to do it.  Normally, I’d take a Faction Frigate through the first 2 levels but I realized that I had never flown a Tactical Destroyer and decided to give a Jackdaw a try.

And thats where the trouble starts.  I am both lazy and bad at EVE, that means, I have no idea how to fit things and I don’t have fits stored from corporations and friends. All the fits I see online are PvP fits and while they give me a gist what this boat can do, they don’t tell me much about specific PvE encounters.  So I made my own fit and expected it to be a lossmail pretty quickly.  But it blows through LvL 1 /2 at incredible speed and I recently even took it into LvL 3 missions where paying attention is actually required.  I just did the Angel Extravaganza and it was fun – a lot longer than if I had taken a Tengu but it really gave me a good feeling for the capabilities of this boat.

That is what PvE is supposed to be, right? You get to fly ships in a very controlled environment, learn its strengths, experience its weaknesses and experiment with the fittings.  I kind of missed that phase, most of my EVE career, have have flown a) with people who are better at this and b) in environments were a doctrine makes sense.  So, I am actually quite proud of my little Jackdaw with its Meta launchers (dont have light missile skills high enough) – it works well enough for LvL 3 missions and I am having fun flying something new (fit is below, comments welcome).

Jackdaw in Motion
I don’t particularly like the look of the Jackdaw – typically Caldari, all functional and nothing for the eye to admire. But this alt only flies missile boats and hence Caldari was the only choice.  And it works well, so I am not complaining.

In other news, I am having fun in Noir. Academy, learning a lot, attending classes with e.g. Psianh Auvyander and shooting people in the face.   Its literally a different game from the one I have been playing for 4 years – always fun to see something new.

“My” kill of the week was actually this morning.  Enjoy.

[Jackdaw, The experiment]
Missile Guidance Enhancer II
Ballistic Control System II

5MN Microwarpdrive II
Adaptive Invulnerability Field II
Missile Guidance Computer II
Small Shield Extender II
EM Ward Field II
Cap Recharger II

Arbalest Compact Light Missile Launcher
Arbalest Compact Light Missile Launcher
Arbalest Compact Light Missile Launcher
Arbalest Compact Light Missile Launcher
Arbalest Compact Light Missile Launcher
Expanded Probe Launcher I

Small Warhead Rigor Catalyst I
Small Capacitor Control Circuit II
Small Core Defense Field Purger II

Scourge Light Missile x6862

2 responses to “Experiments

  1. What would be needed to upgrade that small shield extender to a medium?
    Wouldn’t an active shield tank be better as the small extender?
    Do you really need those Missile Guidance modules to apply damage?

Leave a Reply

