That’s no moon…

Not EVE related, feel free to click away if you don’t need a rant about my health, attitude toward games and Royal Weddings.


Still here?  Still reading? Well, then, here goes a rant.

I tend to keep myself busy and fit with gym, running, hiking and generally taking care of physical things around the house, be it sorting out the garden or cutting trees and chopping firewood.  For me to get up from my desk and walk / run a swift 5 mile with the dog etc is the high point of my day.  Winter was long, cold and miserable and I used the little Spring we had to its fullest, ramped up my exercise and eagerly awaited summer.

I started using a smartwatch in March. Garmin Vivoactive 3 to track my dog walks.

 

My knees had been bothering me since October (hence no running) and I finally broke down and visited a local sports orthopedic surgeon. He ordered an MRI and reviewing it found that it was time to sharpen the blades and clean up a decent number of meniscus tears in my knees (both of them, why waste a good anesthesia).  Its no big deal, I have had done this (with the same doctor) in the past, its about 1 week to 10 days of moderate-pain recovery.  Then 10 years of peace and quiet.

Or so was the plan.  I go under in good spirits, wake up and notice a rather large brace on my left leg, nothing on my right.  Doc comes and explains to my addled brain that he opened up my left leg and found a rather large hole in the cartilage somewhere, likely from some nasty impact injury (could have been anything, really).

Its a moon! No, its the inside of my knee

He decided to clean out the floating “debris”, scrape the cartilage clean and drill into the bone to allow blood and stuff seep into the gap and re-build itself.

A nice clean hole in the cartilage. Some scraping tool for scale.

Holes! Now it really looks like a cratered moonscape

Instead of 10 days of recovery, it’ll be 6-8 weeks with brace, crutches and physio.  So, doc tells my drugged self this post surgery and looks all pleased with himself like my puppy dog when she returns a lump of frozen cat shit.  Wagging tail etc.  He wants to get patted on his head?  Bellyrub?  6-fucking weeks on crutches?  Christ, I know he means well and did the right thing but I want to slap him with a dead fish.

So, I am so grounded now that I can’t barely hop around the house.  An odd thing is also that there is no pain, none. Which is awesome (really is) but its also weirdly disconcerting.  I totally feel like an wimp now and am thoroughly bored with this nonsense.  The rest of my household thinks the same and has classified me as pathetic hypochondriac.

What a great time to play video games!  Well, no.  I discovered a long time ago that video games are only enjoyable when I am in a good mood and otherwise perfectly balanced.  When work is great, I exercise and life is perfect, I love playing EVE and other games. Escapism may work for some people, not for me.  When I am lashed to my sofa / chair for some dumb reason like this, I can’t get the patience to log in at all. Not even interested in talking with my corpmates on slack.  EVE literally does not feature for me at the moment.

So this was my rant and explanation why there isn’t any EVE-related tale from me.

In other news, Prince Harry married Meghan Markle and yes I watched the whole thing on YouTube, mostly for the scenery and the pageantry that nobody does as well as the the Brits.  Not a Limey myself but I always had respect for those in the Royal Family who try to use their privileged position to genuinely serve.  Harry spent 10 years in the Army including being deployed to Afghanistan, he is no slouch and Meghan seems to have her own head on her shoulders.  I wish them well for what its worth (not much).  But never underestimate the internet to tear things down and vomit green, disgusting bile over everything good.  At times like these I want to turn off the computer and run a few miles to get clean again.  Except, I can’t even walk this week.*

 

 

* and yes, many people are far worse off, I will walk / run again soon enough.    This post wasn’t a balanced reflection on life, the Universe and everything.  Its a vent for my frustration and happy biased.  Deal with it

4 responses to “That’s no moon…

  1. Damaged one of my knees. Twice. Non-contact indoor sports can be surprisingly…. adversarial. Knee brace etc. Take it from me, if the doc says wear the brace for a month, do it. Despite any lack of pain, or if it’s feeling good, don’t take it off.. You don’t want to (ahem) damage it further and set yourself back a few weeks…. like a friend of mine did. By the way, swinging your lower body forward all the time is like doing crunches all day. I never had abs quite as good as that again 🙂

    • Good advice, I’ll try to be patient (not my strong suit). Crutches are gone, new brace locking leg straight for 6 weeks, then we’ll see. Its just annoying, just as we are coming into backpacking seasons here… Oh well. Hope you are doing good… .

  2. Hey first, get well soon. Hope it wont last so long.

    Im new to your blog, im a eve player since 2005 but had many many years break of it. i renewed it a week ago and found your sub over a tengu fit ( which isnt any than nearly actual but i used it to get a cheap actual fit, so thx here from me ).

    And cuz u say u only have 2 remaning readers, i will increase this by 50% 😉

    • Hey man, thanks! Just to make sure you know: All (!) T3 Cruiser fits have changed recently and the ones listed the in the guides are not useful anymore. Also, I think the guides were written before Sleepers were “fixed”, specifically their remote repairing abilities. It takes a lot more DPS now than before to take kill them. While I have seen 2 or 3 RR Tengus run C4 sites, this is not really viable anymore.

      Btw, I did not write these guides, my friend TXG wrote those. Full credit to him…

Leave a comment