Gently brushing fame

Well, its been one of those weeks where you wake up on Sunday and can’t remember a thing that happened since the last time you sat down and wrote and not for good (alcohol, drugs) reasons but because the week was filled with a thousand little things, each absorbing, none really noteworthy.

I did have a brush with fame though, a very light touch to be fair.  I was contacted by famed The Mittani.com Space Pravda Imperium News author Vulxanis Viceroy.   Vulxanis wanted to schedule an interview with me due to my last blog post in which I had made some critical comments about the state of wormholes and the usefulness of Alphas. So, Vulx and I agreed to a few times and I was sweatily anticipating my 15minutes of fame.  I double checked my post in expectations of the hundreds of thousands of hits that this would surely evoke.  Did I insult Noobman?  Will HK evict me?

For the record, not only is Noobman outstandingly handsome and very good looking, he also single handedly achieved a massive victory to improve Wormhole space, a victory so grand that he created a veritable legacy as the Savior of Wormholespace : Forever.  I bow to thee, Mr Noobman.  There is no better, Bob’s blessings upon thee.  

Saving WH space

Where was I?  Oh yes.  Imperium Interview with Vulxanis.  Like all star reporters before him, Vulxanis was in extremely high demand but finally we scheduled an hour.  Just before, he had to cancel, apparently Brave Horde was moving from one place to another and as the resident Brave Horde writer he had to park his interview with an obscure Wormholer spewing his bitter vet bile and side-step to a topic of far greater import.  After this intellectual exertion, he was of course in no shape to have an interview with me but graciously came onto my TeamSpeak to just chat.  He We talked for nearly an hour and I learned much about what it means to be a Staff Writer for the Imperium (good ISK, great comradeship, access to excellent editors), learned about Amarr Lore (I could never get my head straight with all these lore-related half-baked in game events) and much more.  I think I dropped the ball when I confused Horde and Brave not once but twice.  He did not take it well.  See to me, they are entirely interchangeable but apparently they are different. Who knew?   We spoke a little bit more about what ISK means in NS and unfortunately I had to wrap it up.  This was my brush with fame and I thoroughly enjoyed that it stayed a brush.  Not really in the mood for a face slap with it.

So, lets start with some EVE stuff and no, I won’t mention The Judge and his CO2 antics.  Others have done it, its EVE narrative at its best and the guy will fade soon out of the game realizing that after a stunt like this nobody will ever trust him.  And trust, not ISK is the main currency in EVE.

Yes, about EVE.  So we are slowly settling our new C2 WH, are recruiting and even poached famous blogger and connoisseur of Wormhole Space Turamarth Elrandir into our ranks.  Tur is a much appreciated addition to our US team and brings a ton of experience and zeal.  Welcome Tur!

Life in the C2 is a lot different than in our C4.  The main different for me is that logistics to get stuff in and out is so much simpler.  Mostly because the routes are so easy to roll and find but also because rarely anyone is present in the holes we enter.  You really have to try quite hard to see anyone in our chains or even in the our LS neighborhoods unless we drop into an active FW system of course.

Which we did the other day.   Since CCP K-space players have forgotten that Wormholes exist, they tend to be at first surprised and then inquisitive.  Case in point, FW pilot “gleeman1 single” jumped into our hole with an Imicus, spent an inordinate time scanning and without any intel whatsoever started hacking.  Upon which he got exploded by yours truly.  I missed his pod and he warped off, back to the safety of LS.  I went after him hoping he does something stupid and sure enough, he returned with a new Heron and came right back in.  We missed him on our hole but there are not that many places to go and Orea found him in one of our data sites.  Although our guest miscalculated, he warped into one of the datasites that has BIG RED FAT SLEEPERS all over the place and our temporary friend found himself sitting next to his wreck, likely wondering what just happened.  When Orea graciously helped him back into K-space, he must have sworn off WH space forever.

Total ignorance of how wormholes work is getting commonplace, in my absence my corpmate Falou separated pod from Heron in a pretty standard maneuver only to gasp at the killmail.  Yes friends, a T1 scout ship hacks happily in Wormhole Space with nearly 400 mil in the cargo hold.  One scratches one’s head. Oh tempora o mores.

As a note to my last remaining two readers, Falou was affected by Terrestrial Weather the other day and operates in his temporary shelter from an ancient laptop. Voice communication wasn’t possible when I logged in and found a miner in next door C2, suckling happily on Arconor.  Without any intel about this hole, I warp to the anom with my Proteus only to see the sleepers wake up and chase said miner from the belt.  After a few minutes, our miner friend comes back, all armed to the teeth with Hobgoblins and starts mining while fighting the sleepers off,  Nullsec-style.  As he is distracted, I fleet Falou whose laptop billows greasy smoke and he drops his Sabre onto me and our miner friend.  I was more concerned about losing Falou’s Sabre to the sleepers and after tackling the Procurer started shooting the Red Triangles.  The Procurer’s drones were kind enough to help me and in harmony, just like good friends, we take the sleepers down.  Then we send our friend home with my customary “did you know what happened mail”.  Durtils

Our (now HS) friend does reply by putting a bounty on me.  I am now a 6 million ISK worth evil person.  I need to find a priest and confess my sins.

Where was I?  Oh yes, Falou and I are hanging out in our neighbor C2.  Did I mention that since our attack on the miner, I saw an Astero with Core Probes 1 on D-scan?  Asteros can be very bad news indeed (as my last Proteus could attest to) but Core Probes 1 let me think of a rather new player.  The Astero is right in line with the only Astrahus in the system and I go take a look.  Turns out our Astero friend is hanging out peacefully outside the docking ring of his ‘hus, scanning happily, likely humming a wee song.  What could possibly happen.

Did I mention that he was outside of his docking ring?  And that there was nobody else inside the ‘hus?  Well, “Falou, decloak your trust Sabre and warp on top of me since I am about 8km away from our Astero friend”.  Falou lands, blows bubbles and our Astero launches drones and starts shooting me.  They tickle.  I tickle back.  Falou enjoys himself, his laptop has melted into the table and we send our Astero pilot to empire space.  As usual, I send a “are you alright?” email to our victim, in this case making sure that he has a route back in.  Wormhole space is empty enough, I really don’t want to make someone lose his hole by accident.  And in contrast to our miner friend early, Astero Pilot replies cheerfully, laughs about it, already replaced etc.  GF!

Phew long post. Space famous, bountied and a known, evil killer of harmless ships.  Who said EVE was dying?

 

 

3 responses to “Gently brushing fame

  1. I would like to point out the main reason I wasn’t able to follow through with an interview is the same that I’ve been avoiding doing news hits pieces since the one you linked (which was immediately prior to school starting). School has started to pick up way faster than I expected and I’ve essentially shut everything to cope. I apologize if I ended up offending you during our conversation. I feel we somewhat got off on the wrong foot and it was not my intention to insult you if that is how I came across. I am glad you have found a niche you enjoy and regret if we are unable to eventually get back to that interview.

    • Hey man, no need to be offended. I thought you tabloid reporters had thicker skin? I found it ironic that a conversation about the total ignorance and neglect of Wormholes by CCP and the mechanics that led to it gets derailed by some NS group moving from system A to system B.

      As for not being able to schedule more conversations, RL >> EVE, that’s never an issue, good luck with school!

      Fly safe in Brave (Horde? Karma Fleet? Damn, I am getting confused)

  2. I really enjoy it when people hang out after a kill and chat a bit. Met some very nice people this way. 90% of the people who ganked me were able to give great advise. I try to do the same when I am lucky enough to snatch a kill.

Leave a comment