CSM 9

Here is a quick screenshot of my CSM ballot.

 

CSM

 

You may be wondering why this eclectic mix of people and which order.

Here is my breakdown

Sugar Kyle.  I met her at a recent meetup event and I have never met anyone in New Eden so organized and clear in her goals and objectives.  She brings a great personality, maturity and experience of Low Sec which sorely needs help.  She is one of the very, very few bloggers who understands that there are people behind other spaceships and she cares about all of us, the game, the community and CCP. I could stop here.  Sugar for CSM.

Mike Azariah, I listen to various podcasts and his demeanor and unapologetic focus on newbs, high sec and “casual play” is what EVE needs.  EVE has become a lifestyle that – if done “right” is all-absorbing.  Mike understands that there is more to life that shoving pixels around.  Vote for him

DJ Funky Bacon and Xander Phoena are great communicators.  Their dedication to the cause is indisputable and with the departure of Jester, CSM needs megaphones in addition to workerbees.  I disagree with Xander on pretty much everything and think that his podcast is a boring, CFC-bootlicking propaganda machine but hey, he is active and he is talking to people.  I won’t look for them for new ideas.  I vote for them so that CSM is not a NDA-gagged focus group but a screaming voice of us engaged players.

Mangala Solaris is likely the most qualified to speak for EVE’s casual PvP gameplay.  Nothing will ever be like RvB, when Brave Newbs are absorbed in a Nullsec block and get ~serious~, RvB will still welp fleet after fleet of Atrons.  They and EVE Uni are the real door for newbrows to stay.

Ali Aras.  Yes, I dislike her whining and sometimes I think she is more an apologetic spokesperson for CCP than a representative for the players.  Maybe she was looking for a job there and I would not hold it against her.  CCP is a great company, so why not.  But as much as I dislike her style, she is a great communicator and cares about the game and the players.  She is not a bitter vet yet and sees the world of EVE with open eyes.  Noir. is my favorite corp in the game (outside of my Alliance, IOS, of course…) and I wish I had the time to fly with them.  Hence my vote is a bit of jealousy.

James Arget and Proclus Diadochu.  Well, tbh, I didn’t know if I should include them. They are nominally WH candidates but WHs have seen nothing in more than two years, so all talk about bringing WH candidates into CSM and then waiting for good things to happen was delusional.  But.  Occasionally CCP drops ideas onto CSM that either ignore the WH community entirely (deployables…) or are plain dumb.  CCP devs don’t fly in Wormholes and we can tell. I expect James and Proclus to stop CCP in their track everytime when they come up with some harebrained idea that did not consider us Wormholers.

4 responses to “CSM 9

  1. WH’s haven’t seen anything in two years? No way you can say that, Epi! The new starbase changes and individual hangers. The access range of modules. The scanning changes, the site changes (maybe not so good), the new industrials: the kryos, epithal,miasmos – to even the new SoE ships, have changed WH life forever. And what about the deployables, how you don’t even NEED a POS to take short residence in a hole now. We can debate whether this is new content, but you can’t deny these are significant changes.

    • Hi Oreb,

      guess you are right. WHs have seen the collateral damage that came from deployable structures and new haulers plus the dumbscanner. But lets go through it:

      Personal Hangar array – cute, imho useless for WH corps. You already trust your mates with your ships, so a personal hangar array doesn’t add value
      XL Ship array, yes, that is nice. I agree. Before we had to make do with what ships we could bring in. The X-L ship arrays are now a duming ground for useless crap that directors have to export when the owner left to play something else.
      SoE boats. Cute, not bad at all. Not as good as T3s and we all fly those. But very pretty. When they become reasonably priced, I may think about it
      Deployables? Except of the salvage thing, totally useless. In WH space, nobody sane anchors a mobile depot. It is easily scanned down and gives every indication who was there. Its a perfect trap. Ditto with the other deployables. Especially the POS sucking things are pointless, designed for nullsec griefing only
      ESS? Geez, NS
      Scanner changes? Yes they are great. So great that CCP is now asking for advice how to reverse it in WH space. Useless and hated by the community.

      Was there anything else?

      Dont get me wrong, these little lifestyle changes are cute and WHers adapt them to the needs. But they were _all_ designed for empire space and in principle pointless for WHs. Our CSM dudes have done literally nothing to WH space and I am not complaining. CCP should leave the only region that they accidentally designed properly alone…

      🙂

      • What kind of content would be considered new, in your opinion? New combat sites? New ships? Maybe a Jovian T3 that can fit any racial subsystem but balances out by not having an overheat bonus on the ship itself?

        New WH objective constructs that will directly link to the construction of the new Ghost site stargate?

        A connection to different space? When Half the space in known space is empty?

        But, yeah, you are right. Content specific to wormholers has been scant. Maybe that new t3 idea could evolve into more materials for that specific ship. Who knows.

        • Well, I never said that I wanted anything for WH space. CCP accidentally got it right straight from the start. And I wont join the chorus of “fix POS”, I actually like the current POS system with all its inadequacies. But it is pretty clear that CSM WH candidates starting with TwoStep have done exactly nothing to us that was worthwhile. I do believe that they stopped some dumb idea but they clearly failed to stop others (scanning changes) and therefore proven themselves ineffective.

          What I want for the future of WH space? Oh my. Thats a blog post.

Leave a comment