Spunk

Life in a wormhole is rarely predicable which is both its allure and its downfall.  Pilots desiring content have to create it themselves and the worst enemy of a WH corporation is someone who logs in, looks if something happening and – if not – logs off and plays DOTA.  Wormholes are not like that, Incursions maybe or lowsec but we blaze our own path.

So with this, I log in and stare at our map, trying to find out where I should go, what I should scan, when my corp mate Epicurus.  Epic (as differentiated from “Epi” which is me, very confusing) flies a mean bomber and desires to come back into the hole after a forced night in K-space.  He wants to know if the routes are still good and I accept the mission to get him home, jumping to our static and poking around.  Yes, the Low sec is still there but its a bitch, far away from anywhere.  There was a C2 connecting and according to Intel, has a high sec static that we have not scanned down yet.  The connection is End of Life, means it could blow any minute but what the heck, may Bob Shine His Eternal Light and I squeeze my Proteus through the blue ball.

On the C2 side, I hit D-scan and see a Dominix, an Augoror and a Procurer. Now that is an interesting combination of ships.  Site runners?  No wrecks.  Unlikely.  The Domi and the Augoror protecting the lone Procurer mining barge?  Possible but a narrow D-scan puts the Battleship and the T1 Logistics boat at a moon with POS (but no forcefield).  A POS bash? That would explain the absence of a FF.

Epicurus is perking up.  We still don’t have the route but he is eager to throw some torpedoes at someone.  Patience, little grasshopper.  If I put probes out to find the high sec hole, I will spook the locals.

I find the Domi and the Augoror inside the defunct POS, repairing things.  The Domi has remote repairers fitted and the Augoror; well it does what it does.  Hm.  I could jump them now but a Domi is a fat thing to break and if the Augoror just sits there, it will take me ages to kill him.  Better look for the Procurer, he has to be somewhere.

And he is, suckling on rocks as he should be. A little awkwardly wedged between two large asteroids that I bookmark.  My plan is to kill the Procurer and afterward get my buddy scanned in and see if we can bait the Domi together.

Warp to Procurer, Lord Bob is with me and I land squat on him, decloaked, weapons hot.  Faction scram on him, guns, guns, guns.  Eyes on Dscan.  Procurers are notorious bait ships but nothing happens for a while. I shoot, shoot, shoot.  Then, the Augoror lands close to me and I target him as well.  If he wants to repair the Procurer, he has to deal with the drones I am about to eject.  Talking about Procurer.  Why did I lose lock?  Why is he in warp? Now the Augoror turns around and runs.

What?

The Procurer must have had ECM fitted and bursted himself free from me.  I was a little occupied with the Augoror landing and realized it a few seconds too late.  Both headed back to their real POS, the one with a bubble.  They are joined by the Dominix.

Certified Diplodocuses!  Second time a mining barge slips through my fingers this week.  I need professional help.  Oh well, cover blown, I may as well scan in Epicurus and his bomber.  I spent a long time now in this hole and my connection home is seriously getting old.  I better bring my alt in his Falcon, he has lurked in our static, keeping an eye on the route.  If I was to get locked out, I’d rather do that with backup.

The high sec hole is quickly discovered and communicated to Epicurus – 6 jumps in a bomber, he’ll be here shortly.  Dscan. The Procurer is back.  At the Ore site?  You have to be kidding.  Really, I am supposed to fall for this obvious trap?  Are these guys this stupid that I don’t realize that this time this the mining barge is tanked to the hilt and has a scram on it?

But what they don’t know, I now have a Falcon as well and Epicurus is lurking on the high sec hole in his fearsome Nemesis.  I hike back to the Procurer who pretends to be oh-so-harmless and mines away.  Whistles, so to speak.  The ship even has musical notes in its name.

Innocent.

Right

Procurer Mining

Lets see what they bring.  If Epicurus or my Falcon decloak too early, the opposition will sacrifice the Procurer and walk away.  No, they have to think its just my little Proteus for this to work.  Epic holds cloak, he has trouble doing so, his torpedoes itch in their launchers.  Been there. I love my bombers.  But give me a sec.

I target the mining barge and put fire on him.  Predictably, he targets me back and scrams me.  That’ll show me!  Ok, so we now sit at zero km, both scrammed.  My falcon watches this from 40km, Epic is at his optimal, cloaked fingers on launcher buttons.

I assume that they will bring the (surely, right?) refitted Dominix that has been on Dscan all the time. It now will have neuts and many nasty drones. It will be supported by its own Augoror who will rep the tackling Procurer.  This is, how it is done.  And the Domi’s drones are going to be lethal for Epic’s bomber but he knows, old hand he is.

Well, as I shoot, the Procurer is going down but nothing else happens.  I am scrammed, sure but he is nearly dead, so what gives?  I ask Epic to decloak and put some torps onto the Mining barge so that he may share the inevitable killmail.  He does and he does.  And now the Domi lands on top of me.  A tad late, mate, your mining friend is a smoking wreck.   Epicurus does the smart thing, warps off, reloads, cloaks, returns.  His torpedoes will be very welcome on the fat space potato.

The Dominix ejects sentry drones.  Now, its getting interesting.  He is targeting me and I return the favor since I have nothing else to do.  The Domi will be a long fight, I reload and put my scram on him. His drones do decent enough damage and I wonder if he really is neut fit as I thought he would be.  But my cap is fine and Epicurus decloaks and unloads at him.  Torpedoes are made just for the job to take battleships down and they do fearsome damage. My Falcon is still cloaked up. Jamming a drone boat is not very useful.  The drones will just target what they want, so may as well keep the Falcon as ace.

Now, the Augoror lands 50km off and starts repairing the Dominix.  Aw, the family is all together, how sweet.  He does a fine job, the Domi’s armor is starting to creep back despite of my blasters and Epic’s torpedoes hitting him point blank.  This will take more time than we have, only Bob knows who he is calling now for help.  The Augoror needs to be shut down and a sure-fire way to accomplish this is my Falcon.

Augoror

 

So I order my alt to take his feet off the table, put the popcorn down and do something useful for a change.  He sighs, decloaks, activates his tank and drops a racial ECM onto the Amarr ship.    With perfect ECM skills and apparently no ECCM fitted on the other side, the Augoror suddenly changes from being a force multiplier to useless hull. Got to hate ECM, eh? And since the Falcon is decloaked anyway, may as well shut down the Domi although its more because of killmail whoring that real necessity, that Domi was going down, no matter, what.

Shame we don’t have a spare point to nail the Augoror but hey, the miner and the Dominix are a good prize.

Dominix Last Stand

So, we scoop the mods from the Domi wreck and get ready to leave.  I feel compelled to give a “gf” in local that is cheerfully replied by the opposing team.  In the end, I have quite some respect for them.  They escaped narrow death and responded in setting a trap.  Good for them!  Thats the spirit.  Too many pilots would have cowered and hidden away, but not those.  They may be carebears but they clearly have spunk.

I comment in local channel that we are on our way out of their hole when I get a convo request.  A lengthy conversation in German follows where our “friends” divulge that they were repairing a tower and were totally surprised by us (hint, use “D-scan”. Use it often).  The guys also seem afraid to get shouted at by their CEO for blowing up a Dominix:

nima rum > aso ok den bekommen alle ne standpauke warum se nich aufn d scan gucken 😄

Epigene > lasst Euch nicht anmachen, Ihr habt den Kampf genommen
nima rum > nicht wirlich 😄
Epigene > doch, wirklich
nima rum > naja wir haben die domi verloren ihr nix 😄
Epigene > das ist nicht wichtig
Epigene > Ihr habt die falle gesetzt
Epigene > naechstes mal gewinnt Ihr
nima rum > die nach hinten los ging
Epigene > wer keine falle setzt kann nie gewinnen

Bah.  It takes balls to take on a Proteus with a shit-fit Domi and a Augoror.  Sure, we could be the usual EVE Scum and mock our victims.  But that’s now how things are done in my alliance.

Opposing team, my hat is off, you overcame the reluctance to engage and that is what this game is all about.

You just won EVE.

4 responses to “Spunk

  1. Oh how I miss the mysterious hole. I’d probably be care bearing it up like your victims, but the hole calls for me. You’d be proud of me, Epi, I fit a new Nemesis and have been on the hunt while day tripping into w-space. I’m a predator for a change! No luck yet with kills though :-/.

    • solo kills are hard to come by. The dumbscanner announces new holes, folks do PI with 4+ warp and miners, well, its nice that you don’t have to scan down Ore sites anymore. But now nobody (with a brain) mines WH space. The new refining changes may be a bonus for us, I don’t know. But make mining more valuable in WH space and we may get our targets back…

      As for you to go out in a Nemesis, we need to hook one one day and scout as a team 🙂 You are always welcome with us.

    • Yes, because of Falcon. And Epicurus’ bomber. And because of faction tackle…

      But mostly because they took the fight…

Leave a Reply

